Roger Angell Wins Spink Award for Baseball Writing

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) — The New Yorker's Roger Angell has won the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing. He is the first writer to earn the honor who was never a member of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The 93-year-old Angell will be honored during the Hall of Fame's induction weekend July 25-28 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The BBWAA said at baseball's winter meetings Tuesday that he was named on 258 of 451 ballots cast. The late Furman Bisher, who wrote for 59 years for The Atlanta Journal and The Atlanta Constitution, received 115 votes. Retired syndicated columnist Mel Durslag received 74.

Angell received the George Polk Award for Commentary in 1980 and the first PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award for Literary Sports Writing in 2011.

BBWAA membership is limited to reporters for newspapers, news agencies and some Internet companies.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 235253701 -
Gray Television, Inc.