Two From SEC Are Finalists For MFC Coach Of The Year

By: SEC Digital Network
By: SEC Digital Network

The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) announced today three finalists for the Club's Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. Two of the three finalists are coaches from the Southeastern Conference in Auburn's Gus Malzahn and Missouri's Gary Pinkel, with the other finalist being Duke's David Cutcliffe.

Malzahn has orchestrated the most remarkable turnaround in college football this season, leading Auburn from a 3-9 record in 2012, which included an 0-8 mark in SEC play, to an 11-1 record in 2013. In his first year as Auburn head coach, the No. 3 Tigers are 7-1 in conference play and are set to face off with Pinkel's Mizzou team this weekend in the SEC Championship Game in Atlanta.

Pinkel has also led his team an impressive turnaround in just one year's time. After finishing 5-7 a season ago, Missouri heads into its showdown with Auburn this week at 11-1 and ranked No. 5 in the BCS standings. In Mizzou's first season in the SEC last year, the Tigers managed just two conference wins. This year, they are 7-1 in conference play and champions of the Eastern Division.

Voting is now open for the finalist selection for the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year. Eligible voters include, NCAA Bowl Subdivision Head Coaches and Football Sports Information Directors, Maxwell Football Club members and selected national media. The winner announcement will be made on December 19, 2012 and the award will be formally presented at the 77th Maxwell Awards Gala which will be held in March 2014 in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 234273751 -
Gray Television, Inc.