By: KBTX Staff Email
By: KBTX Staff Email

KBTX has again earned major recognition from its peers in broadcast journalism. On Saturday, KBTX was honored with 16 awards from the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters in Austin. Representatives from KBTX attended the awards banquet and are proud to bring these awards back to the Brazos Valley for our viewers.

News 3 won 16 honors from the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters in its annual awards, including seven first place awards.

Since 2009, KBTX has received 68 honors from TAPB and the associated awards from the Headliners Foundation. News 3 is among the most honored stations in Texas during that span of time.

KBTX was fifth overall in the state in total honors for the 2011-2012 awards, and had the second-most in its division.

News 3 competes in Division 3 with stations 11 other television markets. There are four divisions, with Houston and Dallas in Division 1, and Austin and San Antonio making up Division 2.

News 3 earned first place in the station photojournalism category for the third straight year. Photojournalist Katrina Gutierrez took home first places in a pair of editing categories and earned an honorable mention in the individual photojournalism competition. won first place for best website in its division.

For its coverage of the ice storm in February 2011, KBTX took first place in the spot news coverage category.

Steve Fullhart, who co-anchored News 3's coverage of the storm early that morning, won first place in the spot news story category for his piece on a house fire in Bryan and the man who escaped it. It is Fullhart's eighth first place win (individually or for shows he anchored) since the 2008-2009 awards.

Shane McAuliffe took first place in the sports story category for his piece on A&M Consolidated coach Kyle Walsh. John Wilson and Darryl Bruffett were honored for sportscasts.

Videos of the winning pieces are linked in the list below.

Feature Editing: General News
1. Facebook Scanner Hound. Katrina Gutierrez
2. Shooting Pinkie Hardy. Katrina Gutierrez

Deadline Editing: General News
1. Facebook Scanner Hound. Katrina Gutierrez

1. Staff

General Assignment
HM: Terror Test. John Gilbert & Lee Carpio

Sports Story
1. Coaching From a Different Perspective. Shane McAuliffe

HM: Katrina Gutierrez


2. Aggie Tailgate Rush. Shane McAuliffe

2. Operation Desert Pie. Steve Fullhart & Katrina Gutierrez

Spot Story-Individual
1. Burtis Escapes the Fire. Steve Fullhart & Mack Spurlock
HM: Burleson Plane Crash. Alex Villarreal & Katrina Gutierrez

Spot Coverage-Station
1. February Ice Storms. Staff

News Anchor-Anchor Team
HM. Meredith Stancik

2. John Wilson
HM: Darryl Bruffett

Bryan/College Station radio station WTAW earned 12 honors in the radio portion of the TAPB Awards, and is a finalist in the Best Newscast category. The winner will be announced March 31.

Former KBTX meteorologist Travis Herzog, now with KTRK in Houston, took home first place in the weathercast category in Division 1. Former News 3 photojournalist Michael Humphries, who works for KENS in San Antonio, earned five honors.

KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 145461155 -
Gray Television, Inc.