Disaster Proclamation Issued For 19 Texas Counties

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

Gov. Rick Perry has issued a disaster proclamation for 19 Texas counties as the state prepares for what could turn into Hurricane Alex.

Tropical Storm Alex today swirled toward the Gulf coast of northern Mexico and south Texas, where authorities are readying emergency shelters and distributing sandbags. The National Weather
Service says landfall could come as early as Wednesday night.

Perry has activated up to 2,500 Texas National Guard members,
eight UH-60 helicopters and three C-130 aircraft.

Elite emergency personnel, Texas Task Force 1 and Texas Task Force 2, are standing by in Weslaco and Kingsville.

The Alamo Regional Command Center has been activated, and 100
buses for evacuation are on standby.

Perry says Alex poses a threat of imminent disaster in Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Cameron, Duval, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Webb, Willacy and Zapata counties.

Join the Conversation!

To comment, the following rules must be followed:

  • No Obscenity, Profanity, Vulgarity, Racism or Violent Descriptions
  • No Negative Community Comparisons
  • No Fighting, Name-calling, Trolling or Personal Attacks
  • Multiple Accounts are Not Allowed
  • Stay on Story Topic

Comments may be monitored for inappropriate content, but the station is under no legal obligation to do so.
If you believe a comment violates the above rules, please use the Flagging Tool to alert a Moderator.
Flagging does not guarantee removal.

Multiple violations may result in account suspension.
Decisions to suspend or unsuspend accounts are made by Station Moderators.
Questions may be sent to comments@kbtx.com. Please provide detailed information.

powered by Disqus
KBTX-TV Channel 3 4141 E. 29th Street Bryan, TX 77802 Phone: (979) 846-7777 Fax: (979) 846-1490 News Fax: (979) 846-1888
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 97376629 - kbtx.com/a?a=97376629
Gray Television, Inc.