Texas A&M men’s tennis claims 11 wins on TCU Invitational day one

Texas A&M Tennis
Texas A&M Tennis(KBTX)
Published: Jan. 13, 2021 at 7:04 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Texas A&M men’s tennis picked up seven singles and four doubles wins on day one of the TCU Invitational Wednesday at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center. The two-day tournament concludes Thursday.

“I thought today was an opportunity to get back to competition and specifically begin our indoor preparation for the upcoming season,” head coach Steve Denton said. “We have considerable work ahead and our team is acutely aware of that fact. I thought our attitude and our effort was very good, but our execution will have to improve if we are going to make a splash in the indoor segment of our season. We have little time to adapt, but I am confident with this veteran team and the type of competitors that we have on this team that we will collectively do just that. I can’t wait to see how we respond on day two.”

No. 48 Carlos Aguilar and Bjorn Thomas picked up a pair of wins including a 7-5 triumph over No. 24 Tadeus Paroulek and Sander Jong of TCU. Pranav Kumar and Barnaby Smith claimed a victory 6-3 over the duo of Max Kurzban and Eduardo Roldan of TCU. Guido Marson and Raphael Perot picked up the final doubles win of the day, topping teammates Kenner Taylor and Austin Abbrat 6-4.

Freshman Raphael Perot earned two singles wins as he bested Roldan 7-6, 6-1 then toppled Tomas Vaise of SMU 3-6, 6-2, 7-6. Joining Perot in the singles win column were Kenner Taylor, Abbrat, Smith, Thomson and No. 4 Valentin Vacherot.

The Aggies return to the courts Thursday in Fort Worth, with another set of singles and doubles matches against TCU and SMU slated to begin at 9:30 a.m.


TCU Invitational

Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center – FORT WORTH, Texas

Singles Competition

Kenner Taylor (TAMU) def. Max Kurzban (TCU) 7-5, 7-6

Tomas Jirousek (TCU) def. #33 Carlos Aguilar (TAMU) 6-2, 6-3

#123 Sander Jong (TCU) def. #13 Hady Habib (TAMU) 6-7, 6-2, 6-2

Juan Martin (TCU) def. Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 7-6, 6-3

Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Eduardo Roldan (TCU) 7-6, 6-1

Liam Krall (SMU) def. Guido Marson (TAMU) 6-4, 6-4

Austin Abbrat (TAMU) def. Jan-Simon Vrbsky (SMU) 4-6, 7-6, 6-2

Julian Steinhausen (SMU) def. Pranav Kumar (TAMU) 6-4, 6-3

#110 Barnaby Smith (TAMU) def. Caleb Chakravarthi (SMU) 6-3, 6-3

Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) 6-3, 6-1

#4 Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) def. #116 Noah Schachter 6-3, 6-3

Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Tomas Vaise (SMU) 3-6, 6-2, 7-6

Doubles Competition

#48 Carlos Aguilar / Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. #24 Tadeus Paroulek / Sander Jong (TCU) 7-5

Alastair Gray / Luc Fomba (TCU) def. Noah Schachter / Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) 6-1

Juan Martin / Tomas Jirousek (TCU) def. Hady Habib / Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 6-4

Pranav Kumar / Barnaby Smith (TAMU) def. Max Kurzban / Eduardo Roldan (TCU) 6-3

Guido Marson / Raphael Perot (TAMU) def. Kenner Taylor / Austin Abbrat (TAMU) 6-4

Liam Krall / Caleb Chakravarthi (SMU) def. Pranav Kumar / Barnaby Smith (TAMU) 7-6

Julian Steinhausen / Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) def. Hady Habib / Pierce Rollins (TAMU) 6-3

Julian Steinhausen / Liam Krall (SMU) def. Noah Schachter / Valentin Vacherot (TAMU) 6-3

#48 Carlos Aguilar / Bjorn Thomson (TAMU) def. Tomas Vaise / Juan Jose Bianchi (SMU) 7-6


Visit for more information on Texas A&M men’s tennis. Fans can keep up to date with the A&M men’s tennis team on Facebook, Instagram, and on Twitter by following @AggieMTEN.