12 local inmates indicted on jail riot charges

Published: Aug. 4, 2017 at 2:59 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Twelve inmates who were already incarcerated in the Washington County Jail have been indicted for participating in a riot that occurred at the jail.

According to the Washington County Sheriff's Office, the riot happened during the noon meal on June 17, 2017.

Officials say a jailer was retrieving food trays when he was rushed by the 12 inmates at their cell door. The inmates ignored commands given by the jailer and one inmate proceeded to shove the jailer in the chest.

Officials say the fire alarm was activated by an inmate which initiated a call to the fire department and multiple first responders.

Once things were under control, the inmates involved were asked about the incident and they said they were upset about their classification status and housing assignments.

The 12 inmates were indicted for riot participation on Tuesday, July 25. Their bond has been set at $150,000 due to each of them having prior criminal histories.

The names of the inmates involved are: Indicted for Riot Participation, a second degree felony, were: Christopher Deon Bazile, Keatron O’Brian Bimage, Anthony Wayne Burns, Jr., Jevon Levelle Coleman, Michael Dixon, Kevin Wayne Ealey, Jr., Jordan Alexander Graves, Randell Lee Harvey, Jr., Trenton Dewayne Howard, Deperrion Dwayne Lott, Zachary Charles Moerbe, and Damien Rios.

All inmates remain in the Washington County Jail with the exception of Moerbe who has since been transferred to TDCJ on an unrelated conviction.