Focus at Four: Remembering Bonfire on the anniversary of the collapse

COLLEGE STATION, Tex. (KBTX) - At 2:42 a.m. November 18, 2017, Aggies and community members who remember the fall of Bonfire--and many who don't--will gather to memorialize the 12 killed when Bonfire collapsed 18 years ago.

"It's just part of the Aggie spirit to do this," said Devin Lubin '18 with the Traditions Council at Texas A&M University. "Even though us current students weren't there when it happened, it's a part of our Aggie tradition."

The Bonfire Memorial sits where Bonfire was once erected every year. All are welcome to visit and reflect.

The 12 Aggies who lost their lives in the 1999 collapse are the following:

Miranda Denise Adams ‘02
Christopher D. Breen ‘96
Michael Stephen Ebanks ‘03
Jeremy Richard Frampton ‘99
Jamie Lynn Hand ‘03
Christopher Lee Heard ‘03
Timothy Doran Kerlee, Jr ‘03
Lucas John Kimmel ‘03
Bryan A. McClain ‘02
Chad A. Powell ‘03
Jerry Don Self ‘01
Nathan Scott West ‘02

For more on the memorial event, see the video player above. For more on Remembering Bonfire, see the Related Links.