State and federal agencies, including postal service, closed on Wednesday

By  | 

President Donald Trump has designated Wednesday, December 5 as a National Day of Mourning in honor of President George H.W. Bush.

President Trump signed an executive order Saturday, a day after Bush's death, directing federal agencies and departments to close "as a mark of respect for George Herbert Walker Bush, the forty-first President of the United States."

USPS announced Monday that it will "suspend regular mail deliveries, retail services and administrative office activity on Dec. 5" as part of the Day of Mourning.

Governor Greg Abbott announced Wednesday will also be an official Day of Mourning in the state of Texas, which will also allow state agencies, offices and departments to close to allow state employees to attend observances.