3 Kats earn All-SLC men's hoops honors

By  | 

FRISCO — Three Bearkats have been selected to the All-Southland Conference men's basketball teams, league officials announced Monday.

Senior Kai Mitchell and sophomore Zach Nutall were two of the five players named to the first team, while senior Chad Bowie was one of five tabbed to the all-defensive team after leading fourth-seeded Sam Houston State to the Southland Conference Tournament for the league-leading 18th-straight season.

Mitchell, who was a third-team selection and Newcomer of the Year last season, was the Southland Conference Player of the Week three times this season. He is 18th in scoring in conference only games at 13.75 points per contest.

The Haverstraw, New York native is tied for second in field goal percentage at 55.2 percent. He scored a career-high 30 points in a win over Central Arkansas on Feb. 14, and he had two 20-plus scoring games in conference play.

Nutall ranks seventh in conference only games in scoring at 16.53 points per game. He ranks fifth in SLC games in shooting percentage at 47.6 percent, and he is seventh in steals at 1.63 per contest.

The Bryan product had a double-double with 20 points and 11 rebounds in a win at Southeastern Louisiana on Feb. 12. He had seven 20-point games in conference play, which is tied for fifth, with a career high of 28 in a loss at Nicholls on Feb. 8.

Bowie is fifth in SLC only games in steals at 1.74. He had four steals in a loss to Central Arkansas on Jan. 11.

The Houston native has two or more steals in 11 conference games, and he is usually tasked with defending the opposing team's leading perimeter scorer.

2019-20 All-Southland Conference Men's Basketball Teams
First Team Institution
Kevon Harris(3) Stephen F. Austin
Sha'Markus Kennedy McNeese
Kai Mitchell(2) Sam Houston State
Zach Nutall Sam Houston State
Payten Ricks Abilene Christian

Second Team Institution
T.J. Atwood Lamar
Chudier Bile Northwestern State
Ian DuBose(2) Houston Baptist
Gavin Kensmil Stephen F. Austin
Dexter McClanahan Nicholls

Third Team Institution
Warith Alatishe Nicholls
Rylan Bergersen Central Arkansas
Dru Kuxhausen McNeese
Joe Pleasant Abilene Christian
Bryson Robinson New Orleans
2 indicates two-time all-conference selection
3 indicates three-time all-conference selection

All-Defensive Team Institution
Sha'Markus Kennedy McNeese
Chad Bowie Sam Houston State
John Comeaux Stephen F. Austin
Hayden Koval Central Arkansas
Payten Ricks Abilene Christian