Aggies’ Tony Franklin enters Texas Sports Hall of Fame

By  | 

WACO— The Texas Sports Hall of Fame (TSHOF) will enshrine the Class of 2019 and Aggie All-America placekicker Tony Franklin are among the group of seven inductees. The formal induction ceremony and banquet will take place at the Waco Convention Center on Saturday, March 30.

The 2019 Hall of Fame class will honor the following:

Former tennis star Maureen Connolly Brinker (deceased)
Texas A&M All-American and NFL placekicker Tony Franklin
Former Houston Texans wide receiver Andre Johnson
Former professional basketball star Nancy Lieberman
Former Arkansas Outland Trophy winner Loyd Phillips
Former Texas and MLB pitcher Greg Swindell
Dallas Cowboy All-Pro Tight End Jason Witten
The Texas Sports Hall of Fame is one of four separate halls of fame housed within its physical structure, including the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame, and the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame.

Franklin, the bare-footed kicker from Big Spring, Texas, came to Texas A&M to play for Coach Emory Bellard and lettered four years from 1975-78. Franklin earned All-

America honors in 1976 and again in 1978.

At Kyle Field on Oct. 16, 1976, against Baylor, Franklin set an NCAA record for longest field goal with a 64-yard effort in the first quarter. He bettered the mark in the third quarter with a 65-yard field goal. His two field goals of over 60 yards in a single game is still an NCAA record. Franklin would established more than 18 NCAA records. His 16 field goals of over 50 yards is still an Aggie record. Franklin ended his Aggie career with 291 points with 56 field goals to go along with 123 PATs. He has been honored as a “Sun Bowl Legend” and the bowl MVP for his three field goals which included a 62-yard boot against Florida after the 1976 season. The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) named him one of the Top 75 College Football Players of All-Time.

Franklin was a third-round NFL draft pick of the Philadelphia Eagles and helped the Eagles reach Super Bowl XV. He was traded to the New England Patriots in 1983 and led the NFL in field goals made with 32 and scoring at 140 points in 1986. He was named to the Pro Bowl and helped the Patriots reach Super Bowl XX. He finished his 10-year NFL career with the Miami Dolphins.

Franklin was inducted into the Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame in 1989.