Dave South to be honored with NFF On-Campus Salute during game vs LSU

By  | 

IRVING, Texas -- Texas A&M and the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that Dave South, the longtime Voice of the Aggies, will be honored with an NFF On-Campus Salute as the 2018 recipient of the NFF Chris Schenkel Award. The presentation will take place this Saturday, Nov. 24, during the game between Texas A&M and LSU in College Station. The game is scheduled to kick off at 6:30 p.m. CT on the SEC Network.

In May, the NFF named South the 2018 recipient of the Chris Schenkel Award, which has been presented annually since 1996 to individuals who have had long, distinguished careers broadcasting college football with direct ties to a specific university. The award is named in honor of its inaugural recipient Chris Schenkel, the longtime ABC Sports broadcaster who emceed the NFF Annual Awards Dinner for 28 consecutive years from 1968 to 1995.

"Dave South spent more than three decades as the iconic Voice of the Aggies, becoming part of Texas A&M football lore while broadcasting to one of the most avid fanbases in the country," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "We are pleased to honor him with the 2018 NFF Chris Schenkel Award and recognize his distinguished career in front of the 12th Man at Kyle Field."

The NFF On-Campus Salutes are a special tradition, providing the NFF honorees a coveted opportunity to be recognized on the field during a home game. Many past honorees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them a special memory of hearing the crowd applaud their many accomplishments. In addition to his On-Campus Salute, South will officially be honored during the 61th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4 at the New York Hilton Midtown.

South wrapped up his 33rd and final season as the "Voice of the Aggies" in 2017, having started his time in the Texas A&M booth in 1985. Overall, the broadcasting legend spent 47 years as a collegiate announcer. Although he is stepping away from football and basketball broadcasts, South will continue to call Aggie baseball on a year-by-year basis.

South's path started in Waco, Texas, and KWTX Radio, where he was mentored by and called games with legendary broadcaster Frank Fallon, who later became the Voice of the Baylor Bears and claimed the NFF Schenkel Award in 2001.

South was hired in 1970 by the Humble/Exxon Southwest Conference Radio Network, which broadcast SWC football games, and he is the last of the network's broadcasters still on the air. South hosted a two-hour morning news and talk show from 1974-81 before departing full-time radio for the first-and only-time in his career in 1981. For the next two years, he worked as a salesman for Herndon Medical Supplies during the week while remaining active as a sports broadcaster on the weekend. South returned to radio to work in sales in 1983, working at KNFO in the Waco area.

South almost completely retired from broadcasting in 1984, but Texas A&M head coach and athletics director Jackie Sherrill asked him to fill in for one season at Kyle Field in 1985, which led to his more than three decades calling Aggie football, basketball and baseball games. In 1988, South helped launch the Texas A&M Radio Network, working alongside his longtime broadcast partner Dave Elmendorf, a 1997 College Football Hall of Fame inductee and 1970 NFF National Scholar-Athlete with the Aggies.

South has been on the call for some of Texas A&M's most memorable games, including the 1986 Cotton Bowl when A&M beat Auburn and College Football Hall of Famer Bo Jackson; Hall of Fame coach R.C. Slocum's win over No. 1 Oklahoma in 2002; and the Johnny Manziel-led victory at No. 1 Alabama in 2012. His call of running back Sirr Parker's winning touchdown in the 1998 Big 12 championship game against Kansas State was selected as one of the top 100 calls of the 20th century and was featured in a book and CD.

With South on the call, the Aggies have claimed seven conference titles, 16 Top 25 finishes and nine wins in 26 bowl appearances. His time on the mic in Aggieland has included the careers of College Football Hall of Famers Dat Nguyen and Coach R.C. Slocum and NFF National Scholar-Athletes Kip Corrington (1987), Lance Pavlas (1990) and Ryan Tannehill (2011).

South also served as A&M's associate athletics director for sponsorships and broadcasting through 2009, prior to focusing on his broadcasting duties in semi-retirement.South becomes the fourth NFF Chris Schenkel Award recipient from a team currently in the SEC, joining Jack Cristil (Mississippi State - 1997), Larry Munson (Georgia - 2003) and Jim Hawthorne (LSU - 2015).

South will be honored during the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York alongside the recipients of the other NFF Major Awards, including Atlanta Hall Management Chairman and College Football Hall of Fame inductee from Dartmouth Murry Bowden (NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award) and retired Yale athletics director Thomas Beckett and current Harvard athletics director Bob Scalise (NFF John L. Toner Award co-recipients for excellence in athletics administration).

In addition to the presentation of the NFF Major Awards, the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner will provide the stage for the induction of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards; and the bestowing of the 29th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy® to the nation's top football scholar-athlete.

This year's College Football Hall of Fame Class includes Trevor Cobb (Rice), Kerry Collins (Penn State), Dave Dickenson (Montana), Dana Howard (Illinois), Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech), Paul Palmer (Temple), Ed Reed (Miami [Fla.]), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia), Aaron Taylor (Nebraska), Charles Woodson (Michigan) and coaches Frank Beamer (Murray State, Virginia Tech), Mack Brown (Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina, Texas) and Mel Tjeerdsma (Austin College [Texas], Northwest Missouri State).

The winner of the Campbell Trophy® will be announced live at the event on Dec. 4, and the finalists, comprised of the 2018 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, include Kenneth Brinson (Army West Point), Taryn Christion (South Dakota State), De'Arius Christmas (Grambling State), D'Cota Dixon (Wisconsin), Ryan Finley (North Carolina State), Piercen Harnish (Saint Francis [Ind.]), Trace McSorley (Penn State), Dalton Risner (Kansas State), Max Scharping (Northern Illinois), Eric Stevenson (Wheaton [Ill.]), Easton Stick (North Dakota State), Drue Tranquill (Notre Dame) and Christian Wilkins (Clemson).

For more information regarding the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner, please contact NFF Director of External Relations Will Rudd at 972.556.1000 or wrudd@footballfoundation.com.