Hooten named finalist for the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award

By  | 

BOSTON, MA -- The finalists for the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year award have been announced.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

In six years with the Deacons, Prosser posted a 126-68 record. For his career, he was 291-146 in 14 seasons including six as the head coach at Xavier and one year at Loyola (Md.).

At Wake Forest, Prosser's teams averaged 21 wins per season while playing in arguably the nation's most difficult league, the Atlantic Coast Conference. Prosser won 100 games at an ACC school quicker than all but two coaches in the 55-year history of the conference. He coached NBA stars Chris Paul and Josh Howard, led the Demon Deacons to the first No. 1 national ranking in school history and earned ACC Coach of the Year honors in 2003.

The recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser award will be anounced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA division I basketball chamionship.


Casey Alexander, Lipscomb

Tommy Amaker, Harvard

Rick Byrd, Belmont

Johnny Dawkins, UCF

Fran Dunphy, Temple

Steve Forbes, ETSU

Joe Golding, Abilene Christian

Earl Grant, Charleston

Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State

Michael Huger, Bowling Green

Donte' Jackson, Grambling

James Jones, Yale

Mike Jones, Radford

Robert Jones, Norfolk State

Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T

Danny Kaspar, Texas State

Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis PA

Matt McMahon, Murray State

Joe Mihalich, Hofstra

Nate Oats, Buffalo

Ryan Odom, UMBC

Matt Painer, Purdue

Doc Sadler, Southern Miss

Bruce Weber, Kansas State

Mike Young, Wofford