Nine Aggies earn Swimming and Diving All-SEC honors

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- Texas A&M junior swimmer Benjamin Walker earned first-team All-Southeastern Conference honors to highlight the Aggie men’s team’s representation on the 2019 SEC Swimming and Diving Awards, the conference office announced.

Walker, from The Woodlands, Texas, became the first Texas A&M swimmer to earn first-team honors after winning the 200-yard breaststroke at the 2019 SEC Championships. Walker went on to earn first-team All-America honors in the 200 breast at the NCAA Championships, as well as honorable mention honors with the 200 and 400 medley relays.

Earning second-team All-SEC honors were seniors Angel Martinez, Steven Richardson and Sam Thornton, junior Adam Koster, sophomores Kurtis Mathews and Mark Theall and freshmen Clayton Bobo and Shaine Casas. Casas was also named to the All-Freshman Team.

All-SEC First Team
Benjamin Walker, 200 Breaststroke

All-SEC Second Team

Clayton Bobo, 800 Free Relay

Shaine Casas, 800 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay

Adam Koster, 400 Medley Relay

Angel Martinez, 400 Medley Relay

Kurtis Mathews, 3m Dive

Steven Richardson, 800 Free Relay

Mark Theall, 800 Free Relay

Sam Thornton, 1m Dive

All-Freshman Team

Shaine Casas, 200 Backstroke