No. 11 Texas A&M Women Down TCU, Rice

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas --- The No. 11 Texas A&M women’s swimming and diving team defeated Texas Christian University 172-109 and Rice University 177-111 Saturday afternoon at the Texas A&M Student Recreation Natatorium.

“We got up and raced and we were able to do what we had to do,” Aggie head coach Steve Bultman said. “We didn’t want to go six weeks without a meet so it was good to step up and have some momentum to carry into the new year. It was good seeing them seize that moment with some fast races.”

A&M got off to a fast start as they took the top two spots in the 200 yard medley relay led by Raena Eldridge, Sydney Pickrem, Emma Carlton, and Claire Rasmus taking the top spot (1:40.56). They were followed by Amanda Armstrong, Anna Belousova, Taylor Pike, and Golf Sapianchai.

Swim captain Sydney Pickrem placed first in the 200 yard breaststroke.

Senior Monika Gonzalez-Hermosillo came away with gold in the 1000 yard freestyle (10:08.62).

Senior Claire Rasmus (1:49.76), and Haley Yelle (1:49.77) took first and second in the 200 yard freestyle.

Two Aggies earned their first individual wins on the season with senior Mckenna Debever in the 100 yard backstroke (55.98) and freshman Gabrielle Kopenski in the 500 yard freestyle (5:00.68).

Junior Anna Belousova added another individual win on the season in the 100 yard breaststroke (1:02.40).

Junior Raena Eldridge added another individual win on the season taking gold in the 100 yard freestyle (51.66).

Junior Sara Metzsch took the victory in the 200 yard backstroke (2:00.44).

Sophomore Jing Quah was the lone Aggie on the day to tally an NCAA qualifying mark with a B-Cut in the 400 yard IM (4:16.79).

Women’s senior diving captain Alaïs Kalonji earned her first individual win on the season in the 3-meter dive (320.70). Kalonji also placed third in the 1-meter dive (306.53).

Sophomore Charlye Campbell (361.05) took the top spot in the 1-meter dive, with Haley Allen finishing in second (337.21).

The Aggies are back in the pool after the New Year on Saturday, January 5th as they host SMU.