Texas A&M to host Oklahoma State in Big 12/SEC Challenge

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M Men’s Basketball welcomes a familiar foe in Oklahoma State to Reed Arena January 25 in the seventh annual Big 12/SEC Challenge, which features 10 games between two of the nation’s premier college basketball conferences.

All 10 of the Big 12’s teams and 10 of the SEC’s 14 member institutions will participate in this year’s event. Each of the 10 SEC teams that participate in the 2020 Challenge will be a part of the 2021 event.

The Aggies and Cowboys, who met annually from 1997-2012 as members of the Big 12 Conference, have met on the hardwood 49 times with Oklahoma State holding a 31-18 advantage in the all-time series. In the most recent meeting in 2017, the 16th-ranked Aggies were led by an 18-point performance from D.J. Hogg and a double-double from Robert Williams en route to a 72-55 victory at the Legends Classic in Brooklyn, New York.

The Cowboys are coming off a 12-20 season, but will feature a roster that returns all five starters, and will be joined by a signing class unanimously ranked among the nation's top-25.

This will be the fifth year that a bye in the league schedule for participating teams was created to accommodate the single-day format. The four SEC teams not participating will play each other in conference games the same day. The first two years of the challenge were played over several days in November and December but the last five events have been consolidated to one single day in January.

All 10 games will be air across ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU and will be available on the ESPN app. ESPN’s College GameDay Covered by State Farm – the Saturday roadshow that discusses the top storylines of the college basketball season – will originate from one of the Challenge games.

Start times and network designations will be announced at a later date.

Big 12/SEC Challenge (January 25, 2020):

Kansas State at Alabama

TCU at Arkansas

Iowa State at Auburn

Baylor at Florida

Kentucky at Texas Tech

LSU at Texas

Mississippi State at Oklahoma

Missouri at West Virginia

Tennessee at Kansas

Oklahoma State at Texas A&M