Texas A&M’s Bultman, Pickrem honored by SEC coaches

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- Texas A&M head women's coach Steve Bultman was named the Southeastern Conference Women's Swimming Coach of the Year for the second straight year and senior Sydney Pickrem received Co-Swimmer of the Year honors, the conference office announced on Wednesday.

Under Bultman's direction, the Aggies won the SEC team title for a fourth straight year and went on to place 14th at the NCAA Championships. For Bultman, it was the 17th time that he has been honored as a conference coach of the year or coach of the meet. It was his fourth SEC Coach of the Year honor after earning the award in 2014, 2017 and 2018.

Pickrem, from Dunedin, Fla., has now won or shared the Swimmer of the Year Award in consecutive seasons. She shared the honor with Tennessee’s Erika Brown. Pickrem’s outstanding senior campaign included a SEC Championship (800-yard freestyle relay) and two runner-up individual finishes in the 200 IM and 200 breaststroke. At the NCAA Championships, Pickrem posted runner-up efforts in the 400 IM and 200 breast and third-place honors in the 200 IM.

Also being honored by the SEC were nine Texas A&M women’s swimmers and divers that earned first- or second-team All-SEC honors or were named to the All-Freshman Team.

All-SEC First Team
Anna Belousova, 100/200 Breaststroke

McKenna DeBever, 800 Free Relay

Sydney Pickrem, 800 Free Relay

Katie Portz, 800 Free Relay

Claire Rasmus, 800 Free Relay

All-SEC Second Team
Monika Gonzalez-Hermosillo, 400 IM

Alaïs Kalonji, Platform Dive

Jing Quah, Texas A&M, 200 Butterfly

All-Freshman Team

Kylie Powers, 100 Breaststroke