Texas A&M’s Chennedy Carter Named First-Team All-SEC For Second Straight Year

By  | 

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- Texas A&M guard Chennedy Carter was named to the All-Southeastern Conference First Team for the second consecutive season as the league announced its yearly women’s basketball awards Tuesday, voted upon by the conference’s 14 head coaches.

Carter becomes the first Aggie to earn back-to-back All-SEC First Team honors since Courtney Walker, who earned first-team honors in three consecutive seasons from 2013-14 to 2015-16. Carter is the first player in Texas A&M history to be named first team all-conference in both her freshman and sophomore seasons.

In a separate vote conducted by media who regularly cover the league, Carter was additionally named to the Associated Press’ All-SEC First Team Tuesday.

For the second consecutive year, Carter led the SEC with 23.4 points per game in conference games. Overall, she ranks ninth nationally with 22.5 points per game, adding 4.5 rebounds and 3.5 assists per contest.

During the season, Carter set Texas A&M records for consecutive 10+ point games (36 and counting), career 20+ point games (44), career 30+ point games (9), sophomore season scoring (584) and fewest games to reach 1,000 career points (45).

Carter’s season has been highlighted by a pair of SEC Player of the Week honors, plus clutch performances that included a game-winning shot at Auburn (Jan. 24), scoring seven of the Aggies last nine points to win at then-No. 11 Kentucky (Feb. 28), and earning MVP honors at the Maui Jim Maui Classic, averaging 26.5 points in the Aggies’ wins over UC Riverside (Dec. 14) and then-No. 8 Oregon State (Dec. 15).

This marks the ninth straight season a Texas A&M point guard has been named all-conference, dating back to 2010-11.

All-SEC First Team

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Anriel Howard, Mississippi State

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Ayana Mitchell, LSU

Maci Morris, Kentucky

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

All-SEC Second Team

Crystal Allen, Ole Miss

Te'a Cooper, South Carolina

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas

Mariella Fasoula, Vanderbilt

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Alexis Jennings, South Carolina

Janiah McKay, Auburn

All-Defensive Team

Jazzmun Holmes, Mississippi State

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Janiah McKay, Auburn

Taylor Murray, Kentucky

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

All-Freshman Team

Brinae Alexander, Vanderbilt

Robyn Benton, Auburn

Blair Green, Kentucky

Zaay Green, Tennessee

Destanni Henderson, South Carolina

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Akira Levy, Missouri

Victaria Saxton, South Carolina

Co-Coaches of the Year: Matthew Mitchell, Kentucky and Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State

Player of the Year: Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Freshman of the Year: Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year: Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

6th Woman of the Year: Cierra Porter, Missouri

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Maci Morris, Kentucky