Texas A&M’s Freeman, Williams among eight media members selected to Texas Sports Hall of Fame

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas— Texas A&M former students Denne Freeman, a longtime Texas sports editor for the Associated Press, and Charean Williams, a recipient of the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Dick McCann Award, were two of eight media representatives selected to join the Texas Sports Hall of Fame on Thursday. These are the first media representatives selected for induction into the state hall since 2004.

Freeman covered 10 Super Bowls, three Olympic Games and spent 30 years on the Dallas Cowboys beat with the Associated Press. He worked for United Press International the day John F. Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas before embarking on sports journalism full-time. Freeman graduated from Texas A&M in 1959 and began his journalism career at The Battalion.

Williams was honored by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2018 with the Dick McCann Award, given to a reporter who has made a long and distinguished contribution to pro football through coverage. Williams has covered the NFL since 1994, spending time on the beats for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Dallas Cowboys, in addition to covering 25 Super Bowls on the league-wide beat and seven Olympic Games. Williams graduated from Texas A&M in 1986, and was an assistant editor at The Battalion.

Joining Freeman and Williams are John McClain from the Houston Chronicle; Randy Galloway, a long-time columnist and talk show host in Dallas-Fort Worth; Brad Sham, the radio play-by-play voice of the Dallas Cowboys; Eric Nadel, the radio announcer for the Texas Rangers; Bill Mercer, a legendary announcer in the Dallas-Fort Worth area; and the late Frank Glieber, who was sports director at KRLD in Dallas.

The eight media members join Dan Jenkins, Blackie Sherrod, Dave Campbell, Mickey Herskowitz, Verne Lundquist, Jack Dale, Kern Tips and Frank Fallon in the Texas Sports Hall of Fame.