Texas A&M’s Madubuike named to Bednarik Award Watch List

Published: Jul. 15, 2019 at 2:07 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Texas A&M’s Justin Madubuike has been named to the 2019 Bednarik Award Watch List, announced Monday by the Maxwell Football Club.

Madubuike, a junior defensive lineman from McKinney, Texas, has appeared in every game in each of the last two seasons. As a sophomore, Madubuike is the leading returning tackler for the Aggies as he recorded 10.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks a season ago.

In 1995, the Maxwell Club introduced an award for the College Defensive Player of the Year, which was named in honor of the 1948 Maxwell Award winner and member of the College and Pro Halls of Fame, Chuck Bednarik. Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club, sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country.

Madubuike and his teammates, Kellen Mond and Braden Mann, are set to represent Texas A&M at SEC Media Days on Tuesday, July 16, in Birmingham, Ala.

Texas A&M opens 2019 against Texas State on August 29 at Kyle Field, a Thursday night contest set to be broadcast on SEC Network.

Latest News

Latest News