Texas A&M’s Mann named to Ray Guy Watch List

By  | 

AUGUSTA, Georgia – To the surprise of no one, 2018 Ray Guy Award winner, Texas A&M’s Braden Mann, has been named to the 2019 Ray Guy Award Watch List, announced Wednesday by the Augusta Sports Council.

Mann, a senior from Houston, aims to become the fourth repeat winner of the Ray Guy Award after his record-setting junior season marked the first time an Aggie took home the trophy. Mann set the NCAA records for punting average (50.98), 60-yard punts in a season (14) and single-game punting average (60.8) last year.

The Ray Guy Award - named for football's premier punter - honors the nation's best collegiate punter. The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) created the award in 2000. The ASC presents the award live on The Home Depot College Football Awards broadcast on ESPN from Atlanta, Georgia. The Ray Guy Award winner is selected by a voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. Punters are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis is placed on the following statistics; net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, percentage of punts not returned, number of punts and gross average.

Texas A&M opens 2019 against Texas State on August 29 at Kyle Field, a Thursday night contest set to be broadcast on SEC Network.