Texas A&M’s Sam Erickson receives NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

By  | 

The NCAA has announced the fall sport recipients for the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship program. Sam Erickson will receive a $7,500 scholarship to be applied toward the graduate degree program of his choice.

“On the financial side of it, I’m really blessed to have that since medical school would be a financial stress on me,” noted Erickson, a Biochemistry major at Texas A&M. “So, it will make things a little easier. I would like to thank Susan Tatum, who was kind enough to nominate me, as well as Coach McRaven and Dr. Ry Young for their letters of recommendation.”

Erickson will attend McGovern Medical School, which is part of the University of Texas Health Science Center located in Houston, for the next four years. Current plans have Erickson pursuing a career in surgery.

McGovern is the seventh largest medical school in the United States and is in the heart of the Texas Medical Center. With nearly 1,000 medical students and a similar number of residents and fellows, McGovern is one of the largest and most diverse medical schools in the country. Students have access to the latest technology and are taught with an emphasis on humanities, ethics, patient quality, and safety.

A member of the Texas A&M cross country team, Erickson competed in the SEC Championships this past fall and was named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll. During the 2017 track and field season, Erickson won the 3,000m steeplechase at the Michael Johnson Invitational in 9:45.85. This indoor season Erickson placed third in the 3,000m at the Aggie Twilight with an 8:48.12.

The NCAA awards Postgraduate Scholarships to student-athletes who are in their final year of college athletics eligibility. Up to 175 scholarships are awarded each year for use toward an accredited graduate program. Awardees are evaluated on their academic and athletic achievement, campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership. The program rewards college athletes whose dedication and effort reflect the characteristics needed to succeed in graduate study.

Awardees are chosen by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee, which includes faculty athletics representatives, athletics administrators and a conference commissioner.

“These scholarships are one of the ways the NCAA provides a pathway to opportunity for student-athletes,” said Mattie White, chair of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee and senior associate athletics director at Indiana. “These scholarships are reserved for student-athletes with distinguished college careers highlighted by outstanding achievements in academics, athletics, community service and leadership. These experiences prepare them for success in graduate study and life.”

For information on past winners, award criteria, and the nomination process and deadlines, visit ncaa.org/scholarshipsandgrants.