Texas A&M’s Shaine Casas wins National Title in 100 Meter Backstroke

By  | 

STANFORD, Calif. – Texas A&M rising sophomore Shaine Casas won a national title in the 100m backstroke on Saturday, at the Phillips 66 National Championships at the Stanford Avery Aquatic Center.

With his time of 52.72, Casas’ time was the fifth-fastest time in the world this year, and also set a new school record. He is now in the top 10 all-time among Americans in the 100m backstroke.

Casas became the first Long Course National Champion since Aggies Hall of Famer, Chris O’Neil (1986). Head men’s swimming coach Jay Holmes coached O’Neil to two national titles, a LCM 100 fly in Santa Clara the summer of 1986 and an SCY 100 fly in Boca Raton in the spring of 1987.

“Wow, that was really exciting,” said head coach Jay Holmes. “He led from start to finish. When Jason (Calanog) and I saw how fast he was out, we both knew it would be really hard for anyone to catch him. Though I’ll admit, to me his last few strokes seemed to take an eternity. We are really proud of him and we all look forward to what he does next.”

With his preliminary swim in the men’s 100m backstroke, Casas swam a 53.26 to qualify first into the final, knocking more than a second off his previous best (54.51), which also ranks ninth in the world. Casas’ swim in the 200 back ranks him as the 11th fastest American of all-time. His dominant swims in the 100 back and the 200 back, helps position him to make the US National Team in both events.

Juan Rocha (57.10) and Jake Gibbons (57.68) also competed in the men’s 100m backstroke, but did not advance to the finals.

Casas earned his second medal of the day in the men’s 4x200m free relay, as the Aggies placed third to win bronze. Steven Richardson had the leadoff leg (1:51.41), followed by Mark Theall (1:47.18), Adam Koster (1:51.21) and Shaine Casas (1:52.337) to secure the Aggies’ finish in 7:22.17.

Two Aggies swam in the men’s 100m backstroke. Former Aggie Jonathan Tybur was 13th (1:01.43) and advanced to the B Final. He finished 15th overall with a time of 1:01.45 in the B Final. Rising senior Benjamin Walker had a time of 1:02.69.

In the men’s 400m freestyle, Mark Theall had his best time of 3:55.50. Felipe Rizzo touched in the wall in 4:01.19.

Joy Field and Haley Yelle competed in the women’s 400m freestyle. Field had a time of 4:17.96, while Yelle finished in 4:26.11.

In the women’s 100m breaststroke, former Aggie and Olympian gold medalist Breeja Larson placed first in the prelim (1:07.04). Larson would go on to win a national title, lowering her time to 1:06.78 in the finals. Kylie Powers advanced to the D Final after swimming in 1:10.47. In the D Final, Powers had her best time of 1:10.14 to finish 18th overall. Victoria Roubique also competed in the women’s 100m breaststroke and finished in 1:11.13.

Raena Eldridge swam her best time of 1:03.10 and Emma Carlton finished in 1:03.53 in the women’s 100m backstroke.

The 2019 Phillips 66 National Championships concludes tomorrow, August 4 at the Stanford Avery Aquatics Center.


Women’s 400 LC Meter Freestyle

Joy Field – 4:17.96

Haley Yelle – 4:26.11

Men’s 400 LC Meter Freestyle

Mark Theall – 3:55.50 (Best Time)

Felipe Rizzo – 4:01.19

Women’s 100 LC Meter Breaststroke

Kylie Powers – 1:10.47 (D Final)

Victoria Roubique – 1:11.13

1)Breeja Larson – 1:07.04


1) Breeja Larson – 1:06.78 (National Champion)

D Final

Kylie Powers – 1:10:14 (Best Time)

Men’s 100 LC Meter Breaststroke

13) Jonathan Tybur – 1:01.43 (B Final)

Benjamin Walker – 1:02.69

B Final

Jonathan Tybur – 1:01.45 (15th)

Women’s 100 LC Meter Backstroke

Raena Eldridge – 1:03.10 (Best Time)

Emma Carlton – 1:03.53

Men’s 100 LC Meter Backstroke

1) Shaine Casas – 53.26 (Best Time, School Record & #9 in the World)

Juan Rocha – 57.10

Jake Gibbons – 57.68


1) Shaine Casas – 52.72 (Best Time, School Record, #5 in the World, National Champion)

Men 4x200 LC Meter Freestyle Relay – Third – 7:22.17

Steven Richardson – 1:51.41

Mark Theall – 1:47.18

Adam Koster – 1:51.21

Shaine Casas – 1:52.37

Time Trials

400 Free: Luke Stuart – 4:01.18

100 Breast: Hudson Smith – 1:03.99

100 Free: Mike Thibert – 50.59

200 Back: Karling Hemstreet – 2:17.96

200 Free: Jacob Schababerle – 1:57.4

100 Fly: Caroline Theil – 1:02.38