Watt Named a Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

By  | 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas – Texas A&M junior Ally Watt was named one of 15 semifinalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy, presented to the top player in collegiate soccer, the United Soccer Coaches (USC) announced Tuesday.

The Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, presented by World Wide Technology, is the most coveted individual honor in NCAA Division I soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967. The list of semifinalists was based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches. Three finalists will be named on December 7.

Watt is a two-time USC All-Southeast Region First Team honoree. She led the SEC and ranked seventh in the nation with 15 goals on the season. Watt added three assists on the year to rank third in the league with 33 points. A two-time SEC Offensive Player of the Week in 2018, she notched six game-winning goals and scored the first goal of the match on nine occasions, including overtime golden goals in the regular-season finale at No. 17 South Carolina and the NCAA Tournament first round victory against North Texas.

The Colorado Springs, Colo., native has 70 Aggie caps, including 59 starts. She has logged 71 points on 33 goals, which ranks 10th on A&M’s career list, and five assists in her three seasons in Aggieland.

Watt was a redshirt during the 2016 campaign while playing for the United States Under-20 Women's National Team. She played in 14 matches, including five matches at the FIFA U20 Women's World Cup. Watt notched seven goals during her time with the United States U20 squad, including two tallies in World Cup action.

2018 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Samantha Coffey So. M Boston College

Alana Cook Sr. D Stanford

Jordan DiBiasi Sr. M Stanford

Caitlin Farrell Sr. F Georgetown

Kelcie Hedge Jr. M Santa Clara

Julie James Sr. M Baylor

Catarina Macario So. F Stanford

Kayla McCoy Sr. F Duke

Victoria Pickett Sr. M Wisconsin

Ally Prisock Sr. D USC

Kaleigh Riehl Jr. D Penn State

Alessia Russo So. F North Carolina

Ashley Sanchez So. F UCLA

Arielle Schechtman Sr. K Georgetown

Ally Watt Jr. F Texas A&M