KBTX Earns 23 TAPB Honors, Most in Texas

By  | 

KBTX's staff has once again been recognized by its peers in the media for its work

As announced Friday, News 3 will receive 23 honors in the 2012-2013 edition of the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Awards, including eight first place awards. It's the most total honors the station has ever received in the competition, and the most of any station in Texas this year.

KBTX is also a finalist in the Newscast category, which will be announced at a banquet to honor the winners on April 13 in Austin.

The TAPB Awards are divided into four divisions, and KBTX is in Division 3, which features television stations in 11 other like-sized markets serving Texas.

In all, 28 stations were honored. Journalists from outside the state judge the entries.

The first places, second places and honorable mentions ("HM") are listed below, along with a link to view each entry.


1. Cody Coil & Michael Oder, 10 at Ten, Nov. 10, 2012 (Click here)
HM: Darryl Bruffett,10 at Ten, Sept. 19, 2012 (Click here)

HM: Shel Winkley, News 3 at Noon, March 29, 2012 (Click here)

Morning Newscast
2. Brazos Valley This Morning, Sept. 19, 2012 (Click here)

News Anchor or Anchor Team
2. John Gilbert & Meredith Stancik (Click here)
HM: Rashi Vats (Click here)

Spot Coverage-Station
1. Manziel's Road to the Heisman (Click here)
2. Bachmann Shooting (Click here)

Feature (Light)
1. Shane McAuliffe. The Curious Keys of the MSC (Click here)
HM: Shane McAuliffe. Holding the Reins of Inspiration (Click here)

1. KBTX (Click here)

2. Shane McAuliffe (Click here)

Sports Story
2. Cody Coil. Manziel's Hill Country History (Click here)
HM: Stephanie Ando & Andrew Bray. Team Justin (Click here)

Documentary/TV Magazine or Special
2. Manziel's Road to the Heisman (Click here)
HM: Remembering Brian Bachmann (Click here)

1. Nicole Morten. Journey to Freedom (Click here)
2. Steve Fullhart & Lee Carpio. Aggie Airman Lost (Click here)

Continuing Coverage
1. Shel Winkley & Michael Oder. Drought Recovery (Click here)

HM: KBTX.com

Deadline Editing: General News
1. Nicole Morten. Calvert Arson (Click here)

Feature Editing: General News
1. Steve Fullhart. Through Smoke (Click here)


Previous Years' TAPB Awards for KBTX
2008-2009: 13 honors
2009-2010: 19 honors
2010-2011: 18 honors
2011-2012: 16 honors