Races Decided for 2016 as Election Filing Deadline Passes

By  | 

Monday evening, the filing deadline passed to get in on 2016 elections. Local primary match-ups for parties were set. Potential general election match-ups were mapped out. Some candidates realized they would be unopposed.

The Texas primaries will be held March 1. The general election is November 8.

The following information is compiled from the Texas Secretary of State Office's website and the Brazos County GOP. Some information was added to this story as the secretary's website was updated. For more from the secretary's office on the filings in our area and across the state, click on the link attached to this story.

U.S. House
For Texas' 17th District, incumbent Republican Bill Flores of Bryan will face Groesbeck businessman Kaleb Sims and Eddy's Ralph Patterson, who chairs McLennan County's GOP, in the Republican primary. The winner will be challenged in November by McLennan Community College instructor William Matta of Waco. District 17 represents from Brazos County to McLennan County, including central and western portions of the Brazos Valley.

District 8's Republican incumbent, Kevin Brady of The Woodlands, faces of a trio of primary challengers: retired Army colonel and teacher Andre Dean of Madisonville, retired Marine Craig McMichael of The Woodlands, and businessman Steve Toth of Conroe. No Democrats filed for the office. District 8 represents the eastern portion of the Brazos Valley.

District 10 incumbent Michael McCaul, a Republican from Austin, will be unchallenged in his party's primary. Two Democrats -- nurse Tawana Cadien from Cypress and Scot Gallaher from Austin -- filed for the office. McCaul and Cadien faced off in the 2014 general election. District 10 represents from west Houston to east Austin and includes Washington County.

Texas Senate
Lois Kolkhorst will seek her first full term as the state senator for District 18. The Brenham Republican is unopposed in her own party, and no Democrats filed for the election. District 18 covers Burleson and Washington Counties and runs all the way to the Corpus Christi area.

Texas House
John Raney, who represents District 14 in the state House, will be challenged in the Republican primary by fellow College Station resident and former city councilmember Jess Fields. District 14 covers most of Bryan/College Station. No Democrats filed.

The rest of Brazos County, all of Robertson County, and points north to McLennan County are covered by District 12. Incumbent Republican State Representative Kyle Kacal of Bryan is being challenged in his party's primary by Michael Stanford of Mexia and registered nurse Timothy Delasandro of College Station. Delasandro ran for the seat in 2014. No Democrats filed.

Leighton Schubert wants his first full term as a state representative, as the Caldwell Republican is seeking re-election to the District 13 seat. Republican and retired Army Colonel Cecil Webster, a Democrat from Carmine, has also filed. Schubert and Webster were among the candidates in the special election for the District 13 seat in early 2015 that Schubert won. The district includes Grimes, Burleson and Washington Counties and points southwest.

With State Rep. John Otto (R-Dayton) not seeking re-election to the District 18 seat, five Republicans are vying for the office: Ernest Bailes of Shepherd, J. Turner of Huntsville, Keith Strahan of Liberty, Van Brookshire of Coldspring, and Wesley Hinch of Liberty. No Democrats filed for this race. District 18 covers Walker, San Jacinto and Liberty Counties.

Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin) is seeking re-election for District 57, which covers Leon and Madison Counties and points to the east. No other Republicans or Democrats filed.

Brazos County
Incumbent Republican Sheriff Chris Kirk will face a challenge in the primary in Miguel Vasquez, who is a deputy with the Brazos County Constable Precinct 2 office.

A pair of current College Station city councilmembers are running for county commissioner positions. Mayor Nancy Berry, who is term-limited and will leave that office at the end of 2016, is seeking the Precinct 3 post as a Republican. She will be opposed in the March primary by businessman Gabriel Garcia. The current seat holder, Kenny Mallard, is not seeking re-election.

Incumbent Precinct 1 Commissioner Lloyd Wassermann, a Republican, is seeking re-election, and will face College Station Councilmember Steve Aldrich in the March primary. By law, Aldrich does not have to give up his current office in order to run for the commissioner post.

Brazos County District Attorney Jarvis Parsons, County Attorney Rod Anderson, Tax Assessor-Collector Kristeen Roe, and 272nd District Court Judge Travis Bryan III have no Republican opponents.

No Democrats filed for office in Brazos County.

Other Sheriffs
Burleson County Sheriff Dale Stroud did not file for re-election. Two Republicans filed for the office. One was the former Caldwell police chief and current district attorney's office investigator Thomas Norsworthy, a Caldwell resident. The other is the former police chief in Somerville, Richard Terral, also a Caldwell resident. No Democrats filed.

Grimes County Sheriff Don Sowell is seeking re-election. The Republican will be challenged in the primary by fellow Republican Shawn Sayers, a Navasota resident who works in law enforcement in Fort Bend County after working as a Brazos County deputy constable. No Democrats filed.

In Robertson County, it will be a November rematch for the sheriff's office between Republican incumbent Gerald Yezak and Democrat Gary Turner, who has worked as a deputy constable in the county. The two faced off in 2012 as well.